I received this as a forward and we confirmed that this has been a law in North Carolina since 2002. (I did not know!) MY friend's son recently received a ticket for not moving over, also. He had only slowed down while passing.
NC Statute: http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-157.html
New Traffic Law 2010 - Ticket cost $754.00GOOD THING TO KNOW: New Law: If a patrol car is pulled over to the side of the road, you have to change to the next lane (away from the stopped vehicle) or slow down by 20 mph. Every state except Hawaii , Maryland and D.C. has this law. In California , the "Move-over" law became operative on January 1, 2010.
A friend's son got a ticket for this recently. A police car (turned out it was 2 police cars) were on the side of the road giving a ticket to someone else. He slowed down to pass but did not move into the other lane. The second police car immediately pulled him over and gave him a ticket. He had never heard of the law. It is a fairly new law that states if any emergency vehicle is on the side of the road, if you are able, you are to move into the far lane.
The cost of the ticket was $754, with 3 points on your license and a mandatory court appearance. Please let everyone you know that drives about this new law. It is true, see details at the following web address:
Pass this along to all of your friends!!! That's a huge ticket price!!